top of page
Search
nainadhawan

Chicken Dumplings

One of my all-time favorite restaurants is Din Tai Fung. Every year for my birthday that is the place we ALWAYS go for dinner. The only problem is that it is crazy expensive to eat there. For a family of 4 it costs us about $100+ just to eat there. That is a crazy amount of money for one dinner. Because of that I decided to attempt to make homemade chicken dumplings at home. Everything is made at home, except for the dumping sheets. I bought those from a nearby supermarket.


Tip #1: My first tip in making this dish is to have your ingredients laid out and ready. For this dish you are going to need to chop and lot of different veggies, ginger, garlic, etc. In order to be clean and make this easier on yourself, I find it best to pre chop and measure your ingredients and then dump them and mix them altogether. This makes you more relaxed and keeps everything clean and organized.


Tip #2: My second tip is to buy premade dumpling sheets. The most time taking part of making dumplings is making the dumpling wrappers. That’s why I suggest buying them from a nearby store so it can save u a ton of time. They taste just as good and are way more efficient and time saving in case you want to focus on other things in the kitchen.


Tip #3: My third tip is to find an easy way to fold your dumplings. This will allow you to not spend as much time in finding the perfect way to fold it and instead easily be able to make tons of dumplings. Remember that the dumpling will taste the same however you fold it do I would recommend that you don’t spend as much time folding them.


Tip #4: I always love to pan fry my dumplings slightly after steaming them. I think the crunch makes it so much better and adds a bit of texture to the soft chewy dumpling. If you want to try both I would recommend that you just steam half of them, and then pan fry the other half.



Chicken Dumpling Recipe for 75 dumplings:

Ingredients:

Filling:

1 lb ground chicken

1/3 cup green onions minced (white parts only)

2 tbsp soy cause

1 large garlic clove minced

¾ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon ground black pepper

½ teaspoon peeled fresh ginger

¼ teaspoon sesame oil

Dumplings:

75 dumpling wrappers (3-inch square)

Instructions:

1.) Combine in a large bowl all filling ingredients and mix with fork.

2.) Make a work surface and place 1 dumpling wrapper on the work surface. Spoon 1 teaspoon of filling into the dumping wrapper

3.) Brush the edges of the dumpling wrapper with water. You can fold the dumpling however you may like.

4.) Place dumpling on parchment paper or on a plate. Continue to make your other dumplings

5.) Get a steamer and place dumplings away from each other and steam for about 12-15 min.

6.) While it is steaming you can make a simple dipping sauce with soy sauce, chili oil, and vinegar.

7.) If you would like you can pan fry your dumplings after steaming to add a bit of crunch.

8.) Serve and enjoy! 😊

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mamnoon Seattle Review

Before I start with this review, I just want to apologize for not being able to include any pictures of the foods. I forgot to take the...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page