top of page
Search
nainadhawan

Shanghai Rice Cakes Recipe

Ever been to a restaurant and had a meal so good that you wanted to learn how to make it at home. Well that was how this recipe came to life.


I got inspired to make this dish from the restaurant Din Tai Fung. I aways love their Shanghai Rice Cakes and I order it every time we go there. During quarantine we started to limit how much we ate outside so I had to find another way to eat my delicious rice cakes.


I started to try out different recipes of rice cakes until I found the one that I liked the most. A lot of the ingredients can be found at a near by Chinese market. I normally find everything I need at Uwajjimaya or H Mart.



Tip #1 - Make sure to soak your rice cakes in hot water for 30 min before you use them. This will allow the rice cakes to become more chewy and soft. You want to make sure that the rice cakes aren't squishy though because it can cause them to break when you make them.


Tip #2 - Add a little bit of cornstarch to the chicken so it can be more tenderized



Ingredients:

1 packet of rice cake (pre soak them to soften the up)

3-4 chicken pieces

7 large shiitake mushrooms

1 bok choy


Sauce:

3 tbsp soy sauce

3 tbsp oyster sauce

1 tbsp hot sauce

1 tsp sesame oil

2 tbsp marsala cooking wine or substitute with orange juice


Instructions:

1. Take out rice cakes and pre soak them for about 30 min

2. While rice cake pre soak, cut chicken into thin strips and put into a medium sized bowl

3. In a small bowl mix together the soy sauce, oyster sauce, hot sauce, sesame oil, and marsala cooking win (or orange juice).

4. Add about 2 tbsp of the sauce into the chicken along with 1 tsp of cornstarch. Mix well and let it marinate for about 15 min.

6. While the chicken is marinating, cut up your shiitake mushrooms and bok choy. You may add any other veggies you like, these are the ones that I always use.

7. Take a large Wok and add some oil and pour your chicken in

8.Consistently stir your chicken for about 4-5 min then add your mushrooms and stir for an extra 2 min.

9. Add in your rice cakes, bok choy, sauce, and mix for about 2 min

10. Once all mixed together add 1/4 cup of water and cover with lid and let it sit for about 3-4 min on medium heat.

11. Take off the lid and stir for an additional 2 min until the sauce turns into a gravy texture.

12. Turn off heat and plate... enjoy!! 😊




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mamnoon Seattle Review

Before I start with this review, I just want to apologize for not being able to include any pictures of the foods. I forgot to take the...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page